RSS

A Year’s End Reflection

03 May

After tomorrow, I will no longer officially be an Online School for Girls student.

That’s both strange and, to be honest, a little relieving.  I say “strange” because I’ve really loved taking these classes, and I’ll miss learning about different countries and governments.  However, it will definitely be relieving, as these two courses have been a lot of work!

From AP US and Comparative Government, I’ve learned that while the world is a large and daunting place, all countries are somehow tied to one another, whether through a shared history, government, ethnicity, and so on.  I’ve learned that the United States’ government is based on one essential principle: “liberty and justice for all.”  Even if we don’t always succeed in carrying out this principle, I admire that we continue to challenge, push, and change laws in order to measure up to this statement.

However, I think the most important thing I’ve learned from this course is that we are all interconnected, whether we are citizens of a city, country, or even global citizens.  These APs have helped me learn that the differences that divide us can be overcome, and that bridges can and should be built, rather than burned.  I certainly didn’t expect to get this much out of a high school course, and I’m eternally grateful that I’ve had this opportunity.

I’m looking forward to taking more courses like this when I depart for college in September, and I know that I’ll be ready and prepared to face the challenges that come with learning about history, thanks to OSG.  I couldn’t have asked for more.

 

Leave a Reply

 
