RSS

What do I Believe?

29 Oct

Do you every feel that you are drowned out by your peers? Do you ever think that you sometimes are looked at differently because of your political beliefs?  Does your environment ever contribute to your own beliefs?  Are your beliefs actually your own, or are they a combination of other people’s beliefs?

     As I begin to grow older and have more of an opinion regarding politics I realize that some of my beliefs differ from my friends.  Last Tuesday I was sitting in the Archer School for Girls’ main courtyard with my friends discussing our political differences and at first it seemed that I was the outlier.  I often was the only one that didn’t agree with the majority or did not have parents that voted for Obama.  I always deemed myself as an Independent since my parents taught me that I needed to think for myself instead of just believing what they believed if I didn’t do my own thinking.  However, this was very different from the way many of my friends regarded politics.

     Living in Los Angeles it is fairly common to live in a liberal, Democratic household since statistically that is the majority of the population.  It became something that was expected of everyone and this was similar in my own friend group.  They assumed that everyone wold have the same opinion, but when we started to get in a heated debate it became clear that that wasn’t the case.  The debate, however, taught us about one another’s idea about the government and gave all of us a more educated perspective.  One of the most enlightening things that came out of our conversation was the fact that we all looked around and realized that we were speaking on our own behalf.  We didn’t have our parents or our siblings or our activity coordinators speaking for us, but instead we were on our own developing our individual beliefs.  We realized that some of our conclusions at the end of our discussion changed once we debated and found that the best opportunity to develop your beliefs is to talk with others.

     One should never be afraid to voice out their opinion in order to figure out what they believe or to express a belief that they already had.  Instead we should embrace one another’s differences in order to represent the diverse nation that we are.  I realized from our cultural attitude towards government that we are so “party-dominated” and often are clouded from the issues that truly matter.  We need to look at politics with an open mind because it is constantly evolving.

So if you feel differently about an issue than the rest of your friends, SPEAK UP!  Don’t be afraid to use the voice that you have in order to talk with one another about issues, especially as important as government, in order to educate one another.  It’s important that we all develop our own ideas and reflect to determine whether what you tell people believe is actually the beliefs that you stand by.

Works Cited:

Boy Thinking. Digital Image. The Collaboratoy at Colby Community College. 29 October 2013. http://thecollaboratory.wikidot.com/philosophy-of-thought-and-logic-2011-2012

“Busybee and Rosebud”. Cartoon.  Busybee and Rosebud Blog. 29 October 2013. http://busybeeandrosebud.wordpress.com/author/cherokee925/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2013 in Default

 

Leave a Reply

 
